organisationmap ICSU DHST DLMPS

The IUHPST is the International Union of History and Philosophy of Science and Technology. It is a member union of ICSU, the International Council for Science. It consists of two Divisions: the Division of History of Science and Technology (DHST) and the Division of Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science (DLMPS). The administration of the IUHPST passes between the Divisions every two years. Currently (until the end of 2015) the officers are as follows:

  • President. Elliott SOBER (U.S.A.; President, DLMPS)
  • Vice President. Efthymios NICOLAIDIS (Greece; President, DHST)
  • Secretary General. Peter SCHROEDER-HEISTER (Germany; Secretary General, DLMPS)
  • Treasurer. Peter SCHROEDER-HEISTER (Germany; Acting Treasurer, DLMPS)
  • DHST contact for ICSU business Annette VOGT (Germany)
  • DLMPS contact for ICSU business Wilfrid HODGES (U.K.)

According to its Statutes, the objectives of the IUHPST are

  • 1. To establish and reinforce links between historians and philosophers of science and between the institutions,
    societies, journals etc. devoted to these or related disciplines;
  • 2. To collect documents useful for the development of the history of science and technology and for logic,
    methodology and philosophy of science;
  • 3. To take all measures deemed necessary or useful for the development, spread and organization of studies and
    research in the fields of history of science and technology, logic, methodology and philosophy of science
    and technology and related disciplines;
  • 4. To organize international congresses on the History of Science and Technology and on Logic, Methodology
    and Philosophy of Science and Technology, as well as other international events;
  • 5. To contribute to maintaining the unity of science in general and to the establishment of links between different
    branches of human knowledge;
  • 6. To foster contacts and exchanges among historians, philosophers, and scholars concerned with issues related
    to the methods and foundations of their respective disciplines.

In practice these activities are carried out entirely by the two Divisions as independent organisations which cooperate where appropriate. At present 49 national members, 13 commissions and 3 independent sections adhere to the DHST, and 38 member committees and 4 commissions to the DLMPS. The two divisions share two of their commissions; the DHST also has 5 Inter-Union Commissions. Some historical information is here.